Conservative Colloquium

An Intellectual Forum for All Things Conservative

“The Rock” in Scripture

Posted by Tony Listi on August 11, 2008

In the Gospel of Matthew, Jesus designates Peter as “the Rock” upon which he will build His Church. Protestants, so reverent of Scripture in all other cases, seem to blithely dismiss this title of Peter as of little significance.

But what exactly does the word “rock” mean in a Jewish/Scriptural context? After careful Scriptural study, Protestants might want to think twice before ignoring the preeminent authority that Scripture confers upon Peter. For in Scripture, “the Rock” is identified with shelter/refuge, strength, security, the foundation of an altar to God, the place of sacrifice to God, a stumbling block to the stubborn and disobedient, life-giving water (foreshadowing baptism?), the source of life and existence, salvation, the divine, Yahweh Himself, and Christ Himself.

“Behold, I will stand before thee there upon the rock in Horeb; and thou shalt smite the rock, and there shall come water out of it, that the people may drink. And Moses did so in the sight of the elders of Israel.”
-Exodus 17:6 (KJV)

“Take the rod, and gather thou the assembly together, thou, and Aaron thy brother, and speak ye unto the rock before their eyes; and it shall give forth his water, and thou shalt bring forth to them water out of the rock: so thou shalt give the congregation and their beasts drink.”
– Numbers 20:8

“And he looked on the Kenites, and took up his parable, and said, Strong is thy dwellingplace, and thou puttest thy nest in a rock.”
-Numbers 24:21

“He is the Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways are judgment: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he.”
-Deut 32:4

“How should one chase a thousand, and two put ten thousand to flight, except their Rock had sold them, and the LORD had shut them up? For their rock is not as our Rock, even our enemies themselves being judges.”
-Deut 32:30-31

“And he shall say, Where are their gods, their rock in whom they trusted….”
-Deut 32:37

“But Jeshurun waxed fat, and kicked: thou art waxen fat, thou art grown thick, thou art covered with fatness; then he forsook God which made him, and lightly esteemed the Rock of his salvation.”
-Deut 32:15

“Of the Rock that begat thee thou art unmindful, and hast forgotten God that formed thee.”
-Deut 32:18

“And build an altar unto the LORD thy God upon the top of this rock, in the ordered place, and take the second bullock, and offer a burnt sacrifice with the wood of the grove which thou shalt cut down.”
-Judges 6:26

“So Manoah took a kid with a meat offering, and offered it upon a rock unto the LORD: and the angel did wonderously; and Manoah and his wife looked on.”
-Judges 13:19

“And they turned and fled toward the wilderness unto the rock of Rimmon: and they gleaned of them in the highways five thousand men; and pursued hard after them unto Gidom, and slew two thousand men of them.”
-Judges 20:45

“There is none holy as the LORD: for there is none beside thee: neither is there any rock like our God.”
-1 Sam 2:2

“And he said, The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; the God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence.”
-2 Sam 22:2-3

“For who is God, save the LORD? and who is a rock, save our God?”
-2 Sam 22:32

“The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and exalted be the God of the rock of my salvation.”
-2 Sam 22:47

“The God of Israel said, the Rock of Israel spake to me, He that ruleth over men must be just, ruling in the fear of God.”
-2 Sam 23:3

“And gavest them bread from heaven for their hunger, and broughtest forth water for them out of the rock for their thirst, and promisedst them that they should go in to possess the land which thou hadst sworn to give them.”
-Nehemiah 9:15

“They are wet with the showers of the mountains, and embrace the rock for want of a shelter.”
-Job 24:8

“Doth the eagle mount up at thy command, and make her nest on high? She dwelleth and abideth on the rock, upon the crag of the rock, and the strong place.”
-Job 39:28

“The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.”
-Psalm 18:2

“For who is God save the LORD? or who is a rock save our God?”
-Psalm 18:31

“The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and let the God of my salvation be exalted.”
-Psalm 18:46

“For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock.”
-Psalm 27:5

“Unto thee will I cry, O LORD my rock; be not silent to me: lest, if thou be silent to me, I become like them that go down into the pit.”
-Psalm 28:1

“Bow down thine ear to me; deliver me speedily: be thou my strong rock, for an house of defence to save me. For thou art my rock and my fortress; therefore for thy name’s sake lead me, and guide me.”
-Psalm 31:2-3

“He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.”
-Psalm 40:2

“I will say unto God my rock, Why hast thou forgotten me? why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?”
-Psalm 42:9

“From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”
-Psalm 61:2

“He only is my rock and my salvation; he is my defence; I shall not be greatly moved.”
-Psalm 62:2 & 6

“In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.”
-Psalm 62:7

“Be thou my strong habitation, whereunto I may continually resort: thou hast given commandment to save me; for thou art my rock and my fortress.”
-Psalm 71:3

“He brought streams also out of the rock, and caused waters to run down like rivers.”
-Psalm 78:16

“Behold, he smote the rock, that the waters gushed out, and the streams overflowed; can he give bread also? can he provide flesh for his people?”
-Psalm 78:20

“And they remembered that God was their rock, and the high God their redeemer.”
-Psalm 78:35

“He shall cry unto me, Thou art my father, my God, and the rock of my salvation.”
-Psalm 89:26

“To shew that the LORD is upright: he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.”
-Psalm 92:15

“But the LORD is my defence; and my God is the rock of my refuge.”
-Psalm 94:22

“O come, let us sing unto the LORD: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation.”
-Psalm 95:1

“He opened the rock, and the waters gushed out; they ran in the dry places like a river.”
-Psalm 105:41

“Enter into the rock, and hide thee in the dust, for fear of the LORD, and for the glory of his majesty.”
-Isaiah 2:10

“Because thou hast forgotten the God of thy salvation, and hast not been mindful of the rock of thy strength, therefore shalt thou plant pleasant plants, and shalt set it with strange slips….”
-Isaiah 17:10

“And they thirsted not when he led them through the deserts: he caused the waters to flow out of the rock for them: he clave the rock also, and the waters gushed out.”
-Isaiah 48:21

“Hearken to me, ye that follow after righteousness, ye that seek the LORD: look unto the rock whence ye are hewn, and to the hole of the pit whence ye are digged.”
-Isaiah 51:1

“O ye that dwell in Moab, leave the cities, and dwell in the rock, and be like the dove that maketh her nest in the sides of the hole’s mouth.”
-Jeremiah 48:28

What else does the Gospel of Matthew say about rocks?

“Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock. And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock.”
-Mt 7:24-25

What else does the New Testament say?

“He is like a man which built an house, and digged deep, and laid the foundation on a rock: and when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently upon that house, and could not shake it: for it was founded upon a rock.”
-Luke 6:48

“And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ.”
– 1 Cor 10:4

“And a stone of stumbling, and a rock of offence, even to them which stumble at the word, being disobedient: whereunto also they were appointed.”
-1 Pet 2:8

Search Bible Gateway for yourself: http://www.biblegateway.com

10 Responses to ““The Rock” in Scripture”

  1. […] is the gospel in which Peter is given the keys of the kingdom and named the Rock of the Church, a title of power and Scriptural significance, facts that Protestants fail to adequately account for in their own doctrine and practice. This […]

  2. Charlotte said

    Great post by the way. I sincerely hope that you don’t mind but today I included a reference link to this article on my blog titled: “A Letter From Sendai”

    The English translation for the capital city of Sendai actually means “A Thousand Generations”

    “Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commands.” Deuternomy 7:9

    This Japanese city (9.0 earthquake) also has the nickname “City of Trees” because they have planted 60 zelkova trees on Jōzenji Street and Aoba Street. Zelkova Trees in the Georgian translation actually means “ROCK” …

    For more details please go to:
    http://pixtalpeep.blogspot.com/2011/03/letter-from-sendai.html

  3. WE ARE ACCOUNTABLE TO GOD FOR OUR ACTIONS …… OUR GOOD OR BAD ACTIONS CAUSE REPORCATIONS …… SOME INSTANTLY AND SOME MANY MANY YEARS LATER IN ANOTHER TIME FRAME OR GENERATION …… THE TWO ATOMIC BOMBS DROPPED ON JAPAN …… ONLY STOPPED THE WAR …… THE FALSE RELIGIOUS SPIRITS CAUSED THE LEADERS OF JAPAN TO ATTACK AMERICA …… THE FUTURE PROMISE LAND …… CHOEN AND ANOINTED BY THE HOLY SPIRIT …… THEIR ATTACK WAS A DIRECT ATTACK AGAINST GOD AND HIS PLAN FOR HIS CHOSEN PEOPLE …… THAT HAS CAUSED THIS REPORCATION IN MARCH 1 1 TH …… 2 0 1 1 …… IN JESUS NAME AMEN
    RICH FITZKAM

    • “He only is my rock and my salvation; he is my defence; I shall not be greatly moved.”-Psalm 62:2 & 6
      This clearly shows that G-d/Jesus alone is the rock, Not Peter!. Peters confession That Jesus was the only begotten Son of the living G-d was the rock upon which Christ built his Church, Peter was no pope and Jesus is the only mediator for the abolition of ones sins.

      • Tony Listi said

        The earliest Christians interpretted Peter as being the Rock of the Church, the Rock on whom the Church was built. This interpretation is the literal and most obvious interpretation of Jesus’ words, especially since the name “Peter” that Jesus gives Simon means “rock”!! Are Jesus’ words not enough for you that you must search the Old Testament for seemingly contradictory statements? Jesus conferred great dignity upon Peter and his successors. Peter and his successors share in the Rock-like character of God (in preserving the doctrinal purity and unity of the Church) because Jesus wanted it to be that way.

        “…I think it my duty to consult the chair of Peter, and to turn to a church whose faith has been praised by Paul…The fruitful soil of Rome, when it receives the pure seed of the Lord, bears fruit an hundredfold…My words are spoken to the successor of the fisherman, to the disciple of the cross. As I follow no leader save Christ, so I communicate with none but your blessedness, that is with the chair of Peter. For this, I know, is the rock on which the church is built! This is the house where alone the paschal lamb can be rightly eaten. This is the ark of Noah, and he who is not found in it shall perish when the flood prevails.” Jerome, To Pope Damasus, Epistle 15:1-2 (A.D. 375).

        “Number the bishops from the See of Peter itself. And in that order of Fathers see who has succeeded whom. That is the rock against which the gates of hell do not prevail” Augustine, Psalm against the Party of Donatus, 18 (A.D. 393).

        “Wherefore the most holy and blessed Leo, archbishop of the great and elder Rome, through us, and through this present most holy synod together with the thrice blessed and all-glorious Peter the Apostle, who is the rock and foundation of the Catholic Church, and the foundation of the orthodox faith, hath stripped him of the episcopate, and hath alienated from him all hieratic worthiness. Therefore let this most holy and great synod sentence the before mentioned Dioscorus to the canonical penalties.” Council of Chalcedon, Session III (A.D. 451).

        “For the solidity of that faith which was praised in the chief of the Apostles is perpetual: and as that remains which Peter believed in Christ, so that remains which Christ instituted in Peter…The dispensation of Truth therefore abides, and the blessed Peter persevering in the strength of the Rock, which he has received, has not abandoned the helm of the Church, which he undertook. For he was ordained before the rest in such a way that from his being called the Rock, from his being pronounced the Foundation, from his being constituted the Doorkeeper of the kingdom of heaven, from his being set as the Umpire to bind and to loose, whose judgments shall retain their validity in heaven, from all these mystical titles we might know the nature of his association with Christ. And still to-day he more fully and effectually performs what is entrusted to him, and carries out every part of his duty and charge in Him and with Him, through Whom he has been glorified. And so if anything is rightly done and rightly decreed by us, if anything is won from the mercy of God by our daily supplications, it is of his work and merits whose power lives and whose authority prevails in his See.” Pope Leo the Great [regn. A.D.440-461], Sermon 3:2-3 (A.D ante 461).

  4. Rylore said

    The word Jesus used for “Peter” means “a stone.” The word for “rock” means “large rock, bed-rock.” Peter was NOT the rock upon which the church was built. This was NOT the interpretation the early Christians gave it. 375 to 461 are NOT the earliest understandings of the passage. I suggest you do your homework better.

    The word “this” from “upon this rock” is feminine singular. Ergo, the word “rock,” which is ALSO feminine, clearly DOES NOT refer to Peter. Learn something of the Greek language. The Greek is a VERY precise language. If “this rock” referred to Peter, it would be masculine—NOT feminine. Your own ignorance due to your erroneous presuppositions is so entirely laughable that it’s actually sad. I suggest you grab yourself a copy of the Theological Dictionary of the New Testament and read up on the usages of both these words in all Greek literature. If you knew anything of the Greek language, or similar languages such as Latin, French, Italian, and Spanish, you would know that if a masculine is referred, everything pertaining to it is masculine. If it is plural, everything pertaining to it is plural. El coche rojo becomes Los coches rojos.

    Once again, Catholics are in error and demonstrating their utter ignorance of Scripture and their heathenistic and heretical anti-christ teachings and doctrines. Catholics are headed to hell on a greased pole, unless they come to Jesus and repent of the false teachings and beliefs of the Catholic church in their superstitious cult practices. There was a reason why the Reformation happened and people protested against the Catholic church—because the Catholic church is the woman riding the beast in Revelation. Want to learn the truth about the unholy Catholic anti-christ church? Read this excellent 5-part series: http://bereansdesk.blogspot.com/2012/08/the-man-of-sin-part-1.html

    • Tony Listi said

      “375 to 461 are NOT the earliest understandings of the passage”
      Alright, I’ll give you some even earlier quotations from the writings of early Church leaders:

      Tertullian (c. 160-c. 225),
      “Was anything withheld from the knowledge of Peter, who is called ‘the rock on which the church should be built,’ who also obtained ‘the keys of the kingdom of heaven’….” (On the Prescription Against the Heretics, 22; ANF, Vol. III, 253)

      Hippolytus (d.c. 236)
      By this Spirit, Peter spoke that blessed word, ‘Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.’ By this Spirit, the rock of the Church was established.” (Discourse on the Holy Theophany, 9, ANF, Vol. V, 237)

      Origen (c. 185-c. 254)
      “And Peter, on whom the Church of Christ is built, against which the gates of hell shall not prevail.” (Commentary on John, 5:3; ANF, Vol. X, 347; cf. Jurgens, I, 202)
      “Look at the great foundation of the Church, that most solid of rocks, upon whom Christ built the Church!” (Homilies on Exodus, 5, 4; Jurgens, I, 205)

      Cyprian (210-258)
      “The Lord speaks to Peter, saying, ‘I say unto thee, that thou art Peter; and upon this rock I will build my Church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it. And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven; and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound also in heaven, and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.’ And again to the same He says, after His resurrection, ‘Feed my sheep.’ And although to all the apostles, after His resurrection, He gives an equal power, and says, ‘As the Father hath sent me, even so send I you: Receive ye the Holy Ghost: Whose soever sins ye remit, they shall be remitted unto him; and whose soever sins ye retain, they shall be retained;’ yet, that He might set forth unity, He arranged by His authority the origin of that unity, as beginning from one. Assuredly the rest of the apostles were also the same as was Peter, endowed with a like partnership both of honour and power; but the beginning proceeds from unity.” (The Unity of the Church [Treatise IV]; ANF, Vol. V)

      “Nevertheless, Peter, upon whom by the same Lord the Church had been built, speaking one for all, and answering with the voice of the Church, says, ‘Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life; and we believe, and are sure that Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God:’ signifying, doubtless, and showing that those who departed from Christ perished by their own fault, yet that the Church which believes on Christ, and holds that which it has once learned, never departs from Him at all, and that those are the Church who remain in the house of God…. After such things as these, moreover, they still dare—a false bishop having been appointed for them by heretics—to set sail and to bear letters from schismatic and profane persons to the throne of Peter, and to the chief church whence priestly unity takes its source; and not to consider that these were the Romans whose faith was praised in the preaching of the apostle, to whom faithlessness could have no access.” (Epistle LIV [LIX], To Cornelius, Concerning Fortunatus and Felicissimus, 7, 14; ANF, Vol. V)

      “They who have not peace themselves now offer peace to others. They who have withdrawn from the Church promise to lead back and to recall the lapsed to the Church. There is one God and one Christ, and one Church, and one Chair founded on Peter by the word of the Lord. It is not possible to set up another altar or for there to be another priesthood besides that one altar and that one priesthood. Whoever has gathered elsewehre is scattering.” (Letter 43 [40], To All His People, 5; Jurgens, I, 229)

      “There speaks Peter, upon whom the Church would be built, teaching in the name of the Church and showing that even if a stubborn and proud multitude withdraws because it does not wish to obey, yet the Church does not withdraw from Christ. The people joined to the priest and the flock clinging to their shepherd are the Church. You ought to know, then, that the bishop is in the Church and the Church in the bishop, and if someone is not with the bishop, he is not in the Church. They vainly flatter themselves who creep up, not having peace with the priests of God, believing that they are secretly in communion with certain individuals. For the Church, which is One and Catholic, is not split nor divided, but is indeed united and joined by the cement of priests who adhere one to another.” (Letter 66 [69], 8; To Florentius Pupianus; Jurgens, I, 233-234)

      Eusebius of Caesaria [Church historian] (c. 265-c. 340)
      “And Peter, on whom the Church of Christ is built, ‘against which the gates of hell shall not prevail’….” (Ecclesiastical History, 6, 25; NPNF 2, Vol. I, 273)

      Aphraates (c. 280-c. 345)
      “[T]he chief of the disciples…the Lord accepted him, set him up as the foundation, called him the rock and structure of the church.” (De Paenitentibus, Homily 7:15; Winter, 58)

      Hilary of Poitiers (c. 315-368)
      “[B]lessed Simon, who after his confession of the mystery was set to be the foundation-stone of the Church, and received the keys of the kingdom….” (On the Trinity, 6, 20; NPNF 2, Vol. IX, 105)

      Ephraem (c. 306-373)
      “Simon, My follower, I have made you the foundation of the holy Church. I betimes called you Peter, because you will support all its buildings. You are the inspector of those who will build on earth a Church for Me. If they should wish to build what is false, you, the foundation, will condemn them. You are the head of the fountain from which My teaching flows, you are the chief of My disciples. Through you I will give drink to all peoples…. I have chosen you to be, as it were, the first-born in My institution, and so that, as the heir, you may be executor of my treasures. I have given you the keys of my kingdom. Behold, I have given you authority over all my treasures!” (Homilies, 4, 1; Jurgens, I, 311)

      Basil the Great (c. 330-379)
      “Peter upon which rock the Lord promised that he would build his church.” (In Isaias, 2, 66; Winter, 55)

      Gregory Nazianzen (c. 330-c. 390)
      “Seest thou that of the disciples of Christ, all of whom were exalted and deserving of choice, one is called rock, and is entrusted with the foundations of the church.” (Oration 32, 18; Winter, 56)

      Gregory of Nyssa (c. 335-c. 394)
      “Peter, who is the head of the apostles…he is the firm and most solid rock, on which the savior built his Church. (Panegyric on St. Stephen, 3; Winter, 56)

      Epiphanius (c. 315-403)
      “[T]he first of the apostles, the solid rock on which the Church was built. (In Ancorato, 9, 6; Winter, 57)

      John Chrysostom (c. 345-407)
      “[H]e [Peter] became a foundation of the Church.” (Homily 3 on Matthew; NPNF 1, Vol. X, 19)
      “[T]o exhibit a man that is a fisher more solid than any rock, while all the world is at war with him….” (Homily 54 on Matthew; NPNF 1, Vol. X, 334)
      “Peter…the foundation of the faith, the base of the confession….” (Hom. de decem mille talentis; Chapman, 74)
      “Peter, that the head of the Apostles, the first in the Church, the friend of Christ, who received the revelation not from man but from the Father…this Peter, and when I say Peter, I mean the unbroken rock, the unshaken foundation, the great apostle, the first of the disciples, the first called, the first to obey.” (Almsgiving 3:4; Chapman, 74)

      How’s this for “do your homework better”??

    • Tony Listi said

      And as for your arguments from the Greek, Jesus didn’t speak Greek to the Apostles. He spoke Aramaic: “You are Kepha and upon this kepha I will build my Church.” Imagining the actual scene where Jesus is speaking Aramaic, there’s no good way to rationalize away the clear intention of Jesus to give Simon the new name “Rock” and to refer to him as the rock on which He will build His Church.

      “In Paul’s epistles—four times in Galatians and four times in 1 Corinthians—we have the Aramaic form of Simon’s new name preserved for us. In our English Bibles, it comes out as Cephas. That isn’t Greek. That’s a transliteration of the Aramaic word Kepha (rendered as Kephas in its Hellenistic form)…. Greek and Aramaic have different grammatical structures. In Aramaic you can use kepha in both places in Matthew 16:18. In Greek you encounter a problem arising from the fact that nouns take differing gender endings. You have masculine, feminine, and neuter nouns. The Greek word petra is feminine. You can use it in the second half of Matthew 16:18 without any trouble. But you can’t use it as Simon’s new name, because you can’t give a man a feminine name—at least back then you couldn’t. You have to change the ending of the noun to make it masculine. When you do that, you get Petros, which was an already-existing word meaning rock. I admit that’s an imperfect rendering of the Aramaic; you lose part of the play on words. In English, where we have ‘Peter’ and ‘rock,’ you lose all of it. But that’s the best you can do in Greek.

      Beyond the grammatical evidence, the structure of the narrative does not allow for a downplaying of Peter’s role in the Church. Look at the way Matthew 16:15-19 is structured. After Peter gives a confession about the identity of Jesus, the Lord does the same in return for Peter…. Jesus is giving Peter a three-fold blessing, including the gift of the keys to the kingdom, not undermining his authority. To say that Jesus is downplaying Peter flies in the face of the context. Jesus is installing Peter as a form of chief steward or prime minister under the King of Kings by giving him the keys to the kingdom. As can be seen in Isaiah 22:22, kings in the Old Testament appointed a chief steward to serve under them in a position of great authority to rule over the inhabitants of the kingdom. Jesus quotes almost verbatim from this passage in Isaiah, and so it is clear what he has in mind. He is raising Peter up as a father figure to the household of faith (Is. 22:21), to lead them and guide the flock (John 21:15-17). This authority of the prime minister under the king was passed on from one man to another down through the ages by the giving of the keys, which were worn on the shoulder as a sign of authority. Likewise, the authority of Peter has been passed down for 2000 years by means of the papacy.”

      http://www.catholic.com/tracts/peter-the-rock

  5. Faaonea Daniells said

    Scriptures always be interpreted by Scriptures. Do not interpret scriptures from a human point of view. Pray the Holy Spirit to unfold to you the correct interpretation.
    Read the Word in its context and expect the Holy Spirit to enlighten your spirit. do not pick out verses and make a mess of them by interpreting from your preconceived ideas and religions. The Word of God is fresh and there is life in it. It transforms and purifies lives of people to people that God created them to be. Matthew 16:15, Then Jesus asked them , “But who do you say I am?:”. 16, Simon Peter answered “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God” 17, Jesus replied “You are blessed Simon son of John because my Father in heaven has revealed this to you. You did not learn this from any human being. 18 Now I say this to you that you are Peter (which means the rock) and upon this rock I will build my church and all the power of hell will not conquer it.Peter is Not the rock as you have interpreted, what Jesus meant referred to the statement that Peter made in verse 16, ” You are the Messiah the Son of the Living God. And upon this statement “The Messiah the Son of the Living God” He will build His church and all the powers of hell will not conquer it.Read Ephesians 1:19-23, Paul’s prayer read verse 22, God has put all things under the authority of Christ and has made Him head over all things for the benefit of the church 23, and the church is his body, it is made full and complete by Christ, who fills all things everywhere with Himself

    • Tony Listi said

      While Scripture must be coherent and in harmony with itself, it does not typically interpret itself. No text interprets itself. It’s metaphysically impossible for any text to interpret itself. Only flesh-and-blood human beings can interpret a text. There are only certain specific instances where some parts of Scripture comment on other parts of Scripture; for example, the New Testament often comments on the Old Testament, and Peter briefly comments on the writings of Paul, calling them hard to understand and easy to twist to one’s destruction (2 Pt 3:16).

      How do you know the Holy Spirit has not enlightened my spirit? How do you know you are not interpreting from “your preconceived ideas and religions”? I could easily say the same things to you, and it gets us nowhere closer to the truth. The Apostles received the Holy Spirit (see Jn 20 below) and those whom they laid hands on also received the Holy Spirit. Only those who have had hands laid on them by an apostle or successor of an apostle has the Holy Spirit in the special way so as to guarantee correct interpretation and doctrine.
      http://www.catholic.com/quickquestions/what-is-the-biblical-support-for-apostolic-succession

      Peter IS the Rock. In this moment, Jesus gives Simon the name “Peter,” which, as you pointed out, means “rock!” How can you point this out and then deny that Peter himself is the Rock? Anytime someone in the Bible receives a new name is a significant event, full of meaning.

      We can argue all day about whether Peter (a name meaning Rock, given by Jesus) is actually the Rock of the Church, though mindlessly absurd considering the meaning of Peter’s name. But you cannot deny that the earliest Christian leaders all identified Peter to be the Rock:
      https://conservativecolloquium.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/earliest-interpretations-of-peter-as-the-rock-in-mt-1618/

      Yes, God has put all things under Christ. So what?
      You know what? Christ has taken all that authority and put all things under Peter and the Apostles, as demonstrated in the verses in question and others:

      “I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.” Mt 16:18-19
      “Truly, I say to you, whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.” Mt 18:18
      “As the Father has sent me, even so I send you…. Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.” Jn 20:21-23

Leave a Reply

 
